AAA Resources at
Serving the Public Quest for Knowledge Since 2000

It's All Food Related

Beef Recipes

A good cut of beef is easy to prepare and serve by just adding a little salt and frying, boiling, baking, grilling, stewing or broiling. How it tastes in the end depends on what type of beef you are using.

There are many sections of the cow which bring you a different beef experience and can alter what you can do with the meat. Each main beef cut is known as a primal cut, which are groups of muscles from the same area of the cow or steer.

Beef cuts may consist of a single muscle, such as the tenderloin, while others may be a cross section of several muscles. The more a muscle is used, the less tender it is. The less a muscle is used, the more tender it is. This is why veal is so tender, but the methods are deemed cruel to achieve it.

Veal comes from overfed baby cows who are kept in very small and confined areas where they are not allowed much movement that prevents them from using their muscles leaving them unable to stand on their own or walk before they are slaughtered.

The chuck cut extends from the neck of the cow/steer to the fifth rib and includes the shoulder blade and upper arm. The blade can niche out blade roasts and steaks, chuck eye, 7-bone roast, steak, mock tender and neck. The upper arm can niche out arm roast and steak, cross-rib roast, boneless shoulder roast, and short rib.

Beef has 13 pairs of ribs. The first 5 ribs are part of the chuck cut. The 13th rib is part of the loin. The rib primal contains ribs 6 through 12. The cuts obtained from the rib primal are very tender and contain many of the best steaks and roasts.

The short loin is contained within the larger cut called the loin. The loin is divided into the short loin and the sirloin. The short loin is the most tender of the primal cuts because the muscles in this area are the least used. It is also the most expensive. Some of the best steaks are cut from the short loin including the porterhouse and T-bone.

The sirloin is located between the short loin and the round and includes the hip section and ends at the socket of the pelvis. Cuts from the sirloin are tender, but less tender than cuts from the short loin. These cuts are also expensive.

Beef cuts from the round are located in the rear portion of the carcass, which includes the top of the leg, or hind shank, and the rump. Cuts from the round primal are lean, but not necessarily tender and tend to be fatty.

The brisket is located on the underside of the animal below the chuck primal and is also known as the breast meat, which extends from between the forelegs to the plate. It includes part of the breast bone and the lower ends of ribs 1-5.

The plate, also known as the short plate, is located on the underside of the animal below the rib primal. The flank is located on the underside of the animal below the loin primal. This is often part of the least expensive part of the animal.

Other parts of the cow/steer which may be cooked include the liver, heart, kidneys, tripe, tongue, and oxtail.

Without further ado, here are some beef recipes for you: